About YKHC

At the Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Corporation we administer a comprehensive healthcare system throughout 58 rural communities with a mission of Working Together to Achieve Excellent Health

Each Tribe in our service area has authorized YKHC to act on its behalf in negotiating with the federal Indian Health Service to provide health services under Title III of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975. Because of this unique relationship, we are able to work toward our vision of Through Native Self-Determination and Culturally Relevant Health Systems, we strive to be the healthiest people

YKHC, along with 12 other Tribal Organizations, is a co-signer to the Alaska Tribal Health Compact, a consortium which negotiates annual funding agreements with the IHS for federal money designated for health care services to Alaska Natives and Native Americans throughout the state.

Our corporate vision and mission is guided by our values of Optimism, Compassion, Pursuit of Excellence, Personal Growth, Importance of Family, Trust, and Elder Knowledge.

Our Service Area

YKHC serves 58 federally-recognized Tribes and operates 41 Village Clinics. Our five larger communities are served by five Sub-Regional Clinics. All communities in our service area are served by the regional hospital in Bethel.

Board of Directors

Elected by the Tribal Councils of each of the 58 federally recognized Tribes in the YKHC service area, the Board of Directors is the chief policy-making body of the organization, exercising all control, management and supervision.

Unit 1

Mary Ayunerak


Michael Hunt, Sr.


Unit 2

Geraldine Beans

St. Mary's

Wesley Pitka


Unit 3

Bonnie Persson

upper kalskag

Patricia Yaska


Unit 4

Phillip K. Peter, Sr.


James Nicori


Unit 5

Stan Hoffman, Sr.


Alton Alexie


Walter Jim

Board chair

Chris Larson


Unit 6

Anna Angaiak

Unit 7

Adolph Lewis


Unit 8

Abraham David


James Sipary

Toksook bay

Unit 9

Patrick Tall


John Uttereyuk
Scammon bay

Unit 10

Darren Cleveland


Marvin Deacon


Honorary Board Member

James Charlie, Sr.

toksook bay

Senior Leadership Team

YKHC’s Senior Leadership Team, led by our President & CEO, is comprised of several division Vice Presidents. The Senior Leadership Team is responsible for the executive administration of the organization, as well as the tone for the “Corporate Culture” at YKHC.

Dan Winkelman

President & ceo

Rahnia Boyer

Vice president of Village health & workforce development

Joseph Klejka, MD

vice President of Quality

Deanna Latham

Vice president of support services

Shailee Nelson

compliance administrator

Jim Sweeney

Vice president of hospital services

Patricia Smith

Patient care services administrator

Lisa Wimmer

Chief financial officer

Tiffany Zulkosky

vice president of communications